Millstone

Whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me. If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea. (Matthew 18.4-6)

 

~

/And Jesus was a sailor, when he walked upon the water/

 

My lord and my god*

/I know you think that I’m someone you can trust,

but I’m scared

I’ll get scared

and I swear I’ll try to nail you back up/

 

/And he spent a long time watching from his lonely wooden tower/

 

/Throw me that lifeline,

this ship of fools I’m on will sink.

A millstone around my neck,

be my breath/

By His breath the heavens are cleared.*

/There’s nothing I wouldn’t give/

 

~

/And when he knew for certain that only drowning men could see him,/

Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.*

/He said all men will be sailors, then, until the sea shall free them/

Because you have seen me you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.*

 

/But he himself was broken, long before the sky would open.

Forsaken, almost human,

he sank beneath your wisdom like a stone/

 

~

Let us also go, that we may die with him.*

 

/Jesus Christ, I’m not scared to die,

I’m a little bit scared of what comes after.

Do I get the gold chariot? Do I float through the ceiling?/

/And this ship went down in sight of land/

/And at the gates, does Thomas ask to see my hands?/

 

See my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.*

 

/Throw me that lifeline,

this ship of fools I’m on will sink.

A millstone around my neck,

be my breath/

With the breath of his lips he will slay the wicked.*

/There’s nothing I wouldn’t give/

 

 

/Lyrics cited/

Brand New. “The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me”, Jesus Christ. Millstone. Interscope Records, 2006.

Cohen, Leonard. “Songs of Leonard Cohen”, Suzanne. Columbia Records, 1967.

 

*Verses cited (NIV):

John 20.28, Job 26.13, John 20.24, John 20.29, John 11.16, John 20.27, Isaiah 11.4

 

I want to “synthesize” these Brand New lyrics with, what I felt were, corresponding scripture verses; to show that relationship. I saw so much meaning in Brand New’s songs– the connection between Christ’s words about the millstone, and their (drowning) cry. It was later that I found the Cohen lyrics fit so well, I included them, too.

 

Leave a Reply

